You may not be able to add someone as a friend if: They haven’t accepted your friend request yet. You may have already sent them a friend request. Check if the friend requests you’ve sent are still pending.
Navigate to the menu > settings & privacy > settings > privacy settings > who can send you friend requests > everyone/friends of friends. Hence, if someone changed their privacy setting to “friends of friends”, the “Add Friend” button will not show unless you’re friends with one of the person’s friends on Facebook.
Note. If you don’t see the “Add as Friend” button, it’s because the person you’re trying to befriend has adjusted her privacy settings to block friend requests (see Chapter 14 for details).
Why can’t I send a friend request to someone?
They Have Reached Their Friend Limit
There is actually a cap to how many friends you can have on Facebook. If someone has reached this 5000 friends limit, you will no longer be able to send them a friend request. … If you try to accept the request, Facebook will not add them to your friend list or you to theirs.
How can I tell if someone blocked me on Facebook?
Check Your Friends List. A fast way to see who’s blocked you on Facebook is to check your friends list. Simply put, if the person you suspect has blocked you doesn’t show up in your Facebook friends list, then you’ve been unfriended or blocked. If they do appear in your list, then you’re still friends.
Why is add friend greyed out?
If you’ve tried to add them and they’ve denied the request, Facebook can remove the option for you to be able to add them again by greying out the add friend button. They may have their settings that only people with mutual friends can add them, and if you have none then the button will appear greyed out.”
How can I tell if someone denied my friend request on Facebook?
Look at the gray button next to the person’s name. If the button reads “Friend Request Sent,” the person has not yet accepted or declined your friend request. If the button reads “+1 Add Friend,” the person denied your friendship request.
Can someone become your friend on Facebook without you accepting them?
This can happen if you (or someone else using your account) sent a request by mistake , or accept their request by mistake. Or a changed name, can also confuse. To clear this, you should check the person’s profile and email notifications. Once you figure out the correct name by seeing mutual friends and other info.
What does it mean when you can only message someone on Facebook?
If you’re not friends with that person on Facebook, you can only send that person a message. Also, this may also mean that you already sent that person a request and you got marked as spam or your friend request got deleted.
What does it mean when your friend request disappears?
It is likely missing because they have not responded to your original friend request. When you friend someone on Facebook it gives them the option do accept or decline the friend request. If they do not respond, the button for you to send a new friend request will not be available.
Can I tell if someone blocked me?
How to know if someone blocked your number on Android. If an Android user has blocked you, Lavelle says, “your text messages will go through as usual; they just won’t be delivered to the Android user.” It’s the same as an iPhone, but without the “delivered” notification (or lack thereof) to clue you in.